# Set users to disabled instead of deleting when deleted from LDAP

**URL:** <https://forum.keycloak.org/t/set-users-to-disabled-instead-of-deleting-when-deleted-from-ldap/9980>\
**Category:** Configuring the server\
**Tags:** user-federation, ldap\
**Created:** [July 8, 2021, 7:31pm UTC](https://forum.keycloak.org/t/set-users-to-disabled-instead-of-deleting-when-deleted-from-ldap/9980 "2021-07-08T19:31:57Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 2\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![kr-cbrown](https://yyz2.discourse-cdn.com/free1/user_avatar/forum.keycloak.org/kr-cbrown/32/3507_2.png) [@kr-cbrown](https://forum.keycloak.org/u/kr-cbrown)\
**Post date:** [July 8, 2021, 7:31pm UTC](https://forum.keycloak.org/t/set-users-to-disabled-instead-of-deleting-when-deleted-from-ldap/9980/1 "2021-07-08T19:31:57Z")

</div>

Hi, we have auditing requirements that specify users are never deleted from our system. Is there a way to have users remain in Keycloak after they are deleted from the LDAP server or unbind them from the ldap federation provider? They are disabled well before they are deleted and the accounts are never used to login again.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![kr-cbrown](https://yyz2.discourse-cdn.com/free1/user_avatar/forum.keycloak.org/kr-cbrown/32/3507_2.png) [@kr-cbrown](https://forum.keycloak.org/u/kr-cbrown)\
**Post date:** [July 8, 2021, 10:12pm UTC](https://forum.keycloak.org/t/set-users-to-disabled-instead-of-deleting-when-deleted-from-ldap/9980/2 "2021-07-08T22:12:37Z")

</div>

I was able to find a temporary workaround. Removing the link in the database can be done with:  
UPDATE user\_entity  
SET federation\_link = null  
WHERE id = \<user id\>
